Lest you think all is well in SL…

Second Life Release Candidate viewer 1.20, the one I need in order to use my 3d Navigator (and its more recent update…is that 1.21?) are CRASH-tastic. My avatar was blinking in and out like a Christmas tree today.

Bet those giant corporations are gonna love that.

Oh, I tried to make a donation to Cyanide Seelowe’s Virtual Artist Alliance PhotoHunt today. Didn’t go through. Another stake in the heart of Second Life’s economic credibility.

Got my 3d SpaceNavigator control

I just got my new 3d SpaceNavigator PE (Personal Edition) tonight when I got home from work, and I’ve spent the better part of the evening playing with it.

Early impressions – It’ll be easy to manipulate sooner than I thought. The combination of camera control and motion control in 1 unit take a little getting used to.

However, the flycam component makes it all worthwhile. This is THE machinima tool of the ages. It is SO smooth and simple to use…just a matter of getting the hang of the control and really MASTERING it.

In an effort to show off its potential, I ran over to Lukas Mensing’s Lauk’s Nest build in Alviso sim and grabbed some footage of Cheen Pitney’s classic “Eagle in Flight” scuplture. Being suspended in the air, I could grab shots from a number of angles. While this looks like a number of “scenes,” it was really one long take that my Roxio software split up.

Enjoy! Hope to show you more (and better) machinima in the days ahead.