3Dconnexion 3D mouse support quietly introduced on SL Release Candidate 1.20

…and that’s why one follows up.

The link offered in the preceding paragraph made reference of SL connectivity coming in mid-April, but there wasn’t any specific SecondLife.com viewer mention. I checked back in today and, lo and behold, they mention that Release Candidate 1.20 works with the 3Dconnexion 3D mice. And wouldn’t you know, the RC 1.20 announcement on the SL blog puts it out there, loud and clear:

Improved Joystick and 3D input device support

  • Integrated a new open source library created by 3Dconnexion designed to integrate multi axis input devices with Second Life
  • Joystick devices can now control the Avatar, Edited Objects, or the Flycam (View menu > Joystick Flycam)
  • Added a “Joystick Setup” window to the Preferences under “Input & Camera” for adjusting multi axis input devices
  • Settings are currently optimized for Logitech’s 3Dconnexion SpaceNavigator but should be tunable for any joystic or 3D imput device

Guess I need to read my Linden blog more carefully, and not just for their b-school case study-quality customer service communications.

I just ordered my 3Dconnexion SpaceNavigator PE (Personal Edition, which apparently means that I only get web support…which is fine by me) at Buy.com for just over $50 including shipping. Should be here by the end of the week. Can’t wait to see how it works!

ARTHOLE shows how to get media for Second Life art

Nebulosis Severine and Arahan Claveau have been working toward the opening of their ARTHOLE gallery space in Second Life for some time, and their success in gaining attention will be well-deserved. Neb just posted the PDF of the media package that they’re circulating to promote coverage of their opening. This is VERY well done, much better than anything I did while running Oyster Bay.

One of the most popular events that I hosted at Oyster Bay was an ArtTalk on “Success in SL Art.” While I raelly had hoped to talk about success as an intrinsic notion, where we try to define success in a world where goods and space are transient and the overseers of the grid appear to have no demonstrable interest in protecting intellectual property rights. The audience, however, was largely interested in financial outcomes, as in “Help me figure out why a scan of my RL wall art isn’t selling.” So we went down that road.

Let’s consider this post as a continuation of that very topic. Page by page, I’ll explain after the fold why the media package is so well done. It’s not rocket science…just common sense.

Before we make the jump, let’s be clear that the media packet is powerful because has something substantial behind it…good artists making what looks like unique artwork. I look forward to swinging by when ARTHOLE opens. Continue reading

Great Blog of the Day No. 2: Dusan Writer’s Metaverse

I’ve mentioned Dusan’s blog a few times on this blog, and he even been so kind as to comment on this one, but let me just open up the unabashed admiration for his blog one more time. Here are a few reasons why:

  • This post outlining some incredible developments that the RealXtend team are doing, as well as another web avatar-based interface…
  • This post on the economy of Second Life and how SL’s creative class soon will have plenty of options to choose from.
  • This post on the economics of Linden Lab’s repricing of sims.
  • ….and, oh heck, just go read the blog.

[UPDATE: Correcting a certain misunderstanding as to gender.  Only in SL….]

Great blog: Second Life Conceptual Creations

I love blogs that not only talk about the artistic pursuits using virtual worlds, but those that also talk about the technical aspects of how they got there.  Not that I could ever do half of what the bloggers are talking about (Frankly, I don’t have time or probably technical acumen to script like I need to…), but I like to see how the technical influences the artistic…and vice versa.

Gaynor Gritzi has just that in a blog I just discovered, Second Life Conceptual Creations.  This is one creative mind, and she is doing a wonderful job explaining how the new developments in the Second Life technical foundations – things like Havoc 4, Mono, etc. – are impacting the ability to create.  Things like running 20mx20mx20m balls down a hollowed-out megaprim winding tunnel or wind/cloud sensitive scultpures.   Or sculpties (see the photo!)  Too cool.

There’s a certain level of joy in sharing the discovery with people, and Gaynor communicates just that.  Second Life Conceptual Creations is now on my NetVibes page.   I’ll add it in my links on the side column as well.