Vig does OpenSim

The OSGrid, to be precise.  It took all day, but the day was lazy and perfectly set for a series of explorations.  (Note I said series, as my Twitter and Plurk feeds tell you, my voyage was anything but crash-free…)  At the end of the day, here’s my first self-portrait:

 

Morris Vig's first self-portrait in OpenSim

Morris Vig's first self-portrait in OpenSim

Note that I’ve still got “Linden” hair and no prim shoes, but I was able to work out my shape and get skin and some clothes to avoid the “Ruth” look.  

I think I can see why some people are getting excited about OpenSim.  It really is the brave new world.  At the same time, it’s VERY sparsely populated, lacks content and makes sim crossings even more curious than the Second Life grid circa 2006.  Gwyn suggests that OpenSim is the platform of 2010; I’m not inclined to disagree.

2 Responses

  1. nice look
    the effort paid 🙂

  2. I knew you’d join us in the open metaverse sooner or later 😉

Leave a Reply

