Sharing holiday joy in Second Life

An unexpected thing happened this holiday season…I was DELUGED with Christmas gifts and cards! It’s an overwhelming feeling have a handful of gifts waiting for you EVERY TIME you log in. Having been as detached from the SL scene as I’ve been (or at least felt I’ve been), these demonstrations of friendship hit me right where it counts. Thanks, everyone!

Beyond that, you really have to admire the innovative spirit in SL’s creative class. I decided to put out all of the Christmas gifts on the Second Arts plaza as a quickie display of this great work, and here’s a 39-picture slideshow of the world in and around Vig’s Christmas tree…

I didn’t mention that the particle snowflakes throughout the slideshow were from a rezzer by Alizarin Goldflake. Also, I received a number of no mod/no transfer textures that I could not put on prims to display…so there really was quite a bit more beyond what I set out at Second Arts.

Again, it’s humbling to know that one has so many friends across the grid. Thanks, everyone, for making my Christmas just that much brighter.

3 Responses

  1. Happy Holidays, Morris! You have demonstrated a good reason to make Holiday card textures modify. It never occurred to me that someone would not be able to put them on a prim to display. Better yet would be to give the texture already on a modifable prim in the future. I shall have to remember. You have many talented friends. Those are some lovely gifts. I also have Gracie Kendal’s painting. I love it – it has pride of place on my living room wall, and will remain there year-round. 🙂

    Princess Ivory

  2. Morris – hey a quick question. Can you put a soundtrack to pictures on slide.com? Not a music video, but music to accompany your own photographs.

    Princess

  3. Princess – I wasn’t trying to make anyone feel bad about sending no mod textures but rather was hoping to gently explain why somone’s texture wasn’t out on display.

    As for slide.com, I believe that they have some music options available. (You can use their music but cannot upload…) Some decent songs in the mix the last time I checked, which was a while ago.

    My problem with using music in slideshows is that I recall having some challenges in turning the music off. Competing slideshow music gets a little annoying. That might have changed…I haven’t looked into it for some time.

Leave a Reply

