Let’s be clear about independent music, SL and otherwise

I just made a day-trip in the car for my job and had a chance to listen to a couple of the artists whose work I picked up on Amie Street at the recommendation of other listeners who liked Chouchou (as I do).

I’m going to try to pick my words very carefully as not to blow things too far out of proportion. The CDs I downloaded were woefully inconsistent. Some was out-of-this world, taking me to a higher place as all great music does to its listeners. And, on the very same CDs, I was forced to just skip the songs because they were so bad.

At the same time, I’m a listener to XM Radio. By and large, I can listen to any of my 3 favorite stations for hours. Nothing is so bad as to make me want to change channels. (Well, except that God-awful Fergie “Big Girls Don’t Cry” song. What in the world was she thinking there? Blech.) Thus, I think it’s safe to say that the major label acts are probably more consistent.

And the major label recordings cost lots more than independent acts on Amie Street, emusic and other download sites. So I think it’s safe to say that you get what you pay for. The market largely works itself out.

Which brings me to the Second Life music scene. My post regarding “My Music Journey” in Second Life was not exhaustive. Not in the least. But I will suggest that, from a consistency point of view, the artists listed in that post are the best that I’ve found in Second Life…or through Second Life. These folks rise above the rest, in my humble opinion. Will every song on every CD be Grammy-worthy? Heck no. But will you have a good time listening to these people’s recordings or catching them in an inworld concert? Heck yes!!

So I want to be clear. I’m as much of a home town fan as anyone else about Second Life and the institutions and cultures of that wacky, laggy grid. But I’m also a music fan who doesn’t wear blinders because it’s OUR music or OUR artists in question. There’s an intersection of what I consider high quality music and the independent music quality of the Second Life scene. Where it exists, I strongly suggest that you seek it out.

The comments I received from Anji and Grace were quite nice but totally unnecessary. They’re both great artists, as are the others that I mentioned. If music’s your thing, they deserve your support.

Leave a Reply

