Reflections on Sacred Space

“Just in time for Easter…” (sounds like a used car ad, or a bad movie trailer, doesn’t it?) I finally finished this project that I’ve been working on for some time. Here’s a copy of the notecard, as well as a couple photos to whet your appetite. Stop by and experience it for yourself.

Reflections on Sacred Space

Reflections on Sacred Space
Morris Vig
March 2008

Like all of my more artistic builds, I created this space in my early effort to build “that mansion I have always dreamed of.” Of course, it didn’t turn out that way.

I started dabbling heavily into WindLight SL photography and began to wonder about building a structure where the textures were not the focus of attention – but instead the sky settings determined the experience. So I created this structure, one where there is plenty of room for the sky to play a role in the build but also where light can reflect off the many pillars and angles. The sculptures around the edge of the room are my constructions as well; I changed their textures to white to provide even more interesting surfaces. I encourage you to explore your windlight settings and find a visualization that works best for you.

Once the build was done – and it was great fun, building a modernist “church” construction without any of the architectural trappings and icons of religion – I realized that I had created a space that inspired an exploration of one’s spirituality…a sacred space that could speak to people of all faiths and beliefs.

This concept of spirituality in virtual space has been a recurring concept for some time – it’s probably the one area I greatly wanted to explore with Oyster Bay and sadly never got to. It’s worth exploring the reasons that we are in a virtual world. Many of us come here for retreat or escape, some for recreation. I might suggest that some are looking for something more…a sense of spiritual peace.

Elros - “Future Vision”So I turned this white build into just that…a place where you can explore those core thoughts of spirituality, and what it means to be in touch with yourself and your higher power – whatever that may be. Please feel free to grab a pillow and enjoy elros Tuominen’s great works of SL sculpture (especially “Future Vision,” which glows brightly as the focal point of the build…an amorphous light that conjures up images of the relationship that one may have with their God).

If you’re lucky enough to be here when others are too, please ask before engaging in conversation. Some are here for the peace and quiet that is offered. But if the conversation is there to be had, why not talk through some of these larger issues. What is the role of spirituality in our Second Lives? How does it manifest itself? What affect does it have on you, both in SL and in RL?

Enjoy the build, and soak in the experience that it offers. It has been a pleasure to share this evolving vision with you.

One Response

  1. My future visions came and a friend of mine talked to me next day about something he had seen…. Ezekiel’s wheels, they are a future vision as well….. I have found an artistic recreation of them Morris, take a look at the picture on the link I am going to paste…. look behind the first wheel… I was annoyed…
    http://ufo.whipnet.org/creation/ufo.bible/ezekiel.html
    forget about the UFOs and so, just the artistic recreation below the little description…
    Have a great day Morris, and many thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

