Happy thoughts on a lousy day

So I’m sitting here in a hotel room in Southern California, supposedly on vacation but having worked pretty much non-stop since I got here (web email is both a blessing and a curse).  And then, probably in part thanks to the crappy air quality from the smog combined with the smoke from the many wildfires, I’ve gone and developed a painful sinus infection.  So, yeah, RL pretty much stinks right now.

And SL comes to the rescue.  I just got this IM over my email, and it really made my day:

[7:47] Laci Snowdrop: I love OYster Bay! You’ve done a beautiful job! What inspired U to build sucha beautiful place? How long did it take U to make this? It’s awesome!!

Doesn’t get much better than that.  Thanks, Laci.

It also reminds me of something that used to come naturally to me – the recognition that Second Life’s population is constantly being infused with new residents…who have no idea what this little corner of the grid is all about.  I think it’s time to start writing a (very) brief history of Oyster Bay.  Perhaps, while I convalesce, I’ll put some thoughts down.  It really has been a great ride, and perhaps some of you might be interested in reading it.

In the interim, anyone interested in the history of Oyster Bay should look no further than the 2nd Floor of Second Arts Photography, where I’ve posted a few photos of Oyster Bay over the months.  It’s a good start, and probably something I’ll build upon.

As a teaser, here’s a shot from the grand opening party (DJ’d by Doubledown Tandino, no less…the beginning of a beautiful friendship!) back in January 2007. Enjoy!

4 Responses

  1. Ahh, that image also shows “The Maestro” sculpture, which drew my attention first time I flew towards Oyster Bay 🙂

  2. What drew me to Oyster Bay was the magnificent sea side and aquarium. Imagine my surprise when i discovered all the beautiful art. My first art purchase in SL was there as i gazed up in visual and audio amazement at Sasun Stienbeck’s rotating sculpture. I keep it updated. At that moment i also met a good friend Zen, whom i am still friends with to this day. And of course Morris, of whom there are not enuf words to describe what he’s brought to me in SL. Its beautiful in Oyster Bay Morris, but my suggestion for you today is pack it up and head up to Santa Barbara instead to finish out your vacation!!!

  3. Memories from the early days of Oyster Bay: I remember Morris walking right up to say, “Hello, Iso!” I remember attending some sort of political thing that got a bit serious and Morris and I doing the “chicken dance” which lightened the mood considerably. I remember all the wonderful art talks from Sunn, Cheen, Madcow, Sasun and others. Thanks for all this and more, Oyster Bay!

  4. Isolde, I know I attended the Avatars Against The War sort of political thing at Oyster Bay, that was January 29 2007. I was only one and a half months old then 😛
    I wasn’t sending Snaps to Snapzilla yet (as I didn’t know it), but instead uploaded a pic of it to my deviantART account: http://nftadaedalus.deviantart.com/art/Avatars-Against-The-War-47586546
    See Doubledown! 😀

Leave a Reply

