Things that make me wonder about Second Life

All Dressed Up

Quite a scene. A wonderful looking location in the “Plush” sims, designed by SL’s resident zillionaire, Anshe Chung. Great design and layout, wonderful textures….all in all, a fantastic build. Really makes you feel comfortable.

But where are the stores? Where are the people? I was the only person in this sim. There was one in an adjoining sim. There were no stores that I could find in this sim, except for the obligatory Anshe Chung property sales/rental superstore. Just a bunch of empty storefronts (with some trash littered in).

This is a wonderful illustration of what I find all too often in Second Life. As a Second Life society, we are fantastic at building structures but not so great at building community. Why is that? What does that say about us, or about SL? Is there a place for honest-to-goodness community building in Second Life? Is there a need? If there is a place, and a need, how do we get there?

I continue to wrestle with these thoughts as I consider the present and future of Oyster Bay. I’d be interested in what others have to say, as I see no quick and easy answers.

2 Responses

  1. I think, for me personally, it has to do with things that are unknown. Before I tp somewhere, I first check on the Map to see how many people there are and about where they are. Then I take a relatively quiet spot to tp to. When going to a place you’ve never been before, you don’t know what to expect. So you feel like a n00b whenever you go somewhere, wait for the surroundings to rez and meanwhile see who is around you.
    Also, when walking up to people and start talking to them, I always feel a bit like interrupting. If I see two or more people already talking to eachother, I don’t want to jump in, almost feels like spying.
    And then people need a reason to come together somewhere. A party or other event. I rarely talk to people I don’t know without a good reason.

  2. Yes Morris, there is an honest to goodness place for community building in SL…..Oyster Bay!

Leave a Reply

